Art Puddles, Blog

It’s All Reflected in the Eyes

new eyes2_hirondelle_1
Mirror to my soul. β€”Hirondelle (Mei)

Everyone knows that eyes are a mirror to someone’s soul. The eyes have this habit of capturing the essence of one’s soul and reflecting it, just like a mirror does. Eyes are the ones that betray our feelings and emotions. They are one of our most prized possessions. Just like a book that is read, they reveal our mysteries.

While looking through some of my old files, I came across this digital drawing I have made some time ago, and the moment I saw it, I knew I had to share it. Even though it is clearly not a masterpiece, but rather a mere drawing practice.

In the past, I used to have a deviantart account, but last year I decided to delete it because I was no longer active. Not that I was too active before either. At that time, I was pretty sure that it would take quite a while for me to get back to drawing, but I was wrong. One day, I came across a free app, called Krita, which I downloaded and tried out. It was similar to Photoshop. Unfortunately, it was laggy on my laptop, since it is quite old and not as good as other newer ones. (But I still love it, because it allowed me to do so many things! Thank you, lapie-chan!

Later on, I discovered Paint Tool SAI.Β  I tried it out, noticed it did not use as many resources as Krita, and stuck to it. From that moment on, I knew I had to draw again. Or, doodle, at least. Though, the ticking time at the top of the screen surely got me somewhat scared. (It was a trial version.)

Back in 2013, I believe, I was using GIMP. Actually, I still do. Sometimes.

Just for the record, I can still remember my first digital drawing in GIMP. It was almost terrible. And even though two years passed ever since then, I have to say that I still haven’t really spent much time drawing digitally. But even so, I did improve. A little. Though, I still have to learn how to color. And develop my technique too.

In the future, I hope I will be able to buy a drawing tablet and work on even more complicated projects. Such as animation. I would really like to try it out and see how it goes.

Who knows, maybe I could make short animated clips for some of my writings?

21 thoughts on “It’s All Reflected in the Eyes”

    1. Yesssss, it’s amazing to be able to draw. Unfortunately, I didn’t have much time to spend drawing and I’m only drawing when I get a little bit of spare time, which doesn’t help me much. I should be practicing more, actually.

      Like

    1. That’s so cool! I would love to see some of your drawings! And read your stories. I’ll make sure to pass by later! :3
      Oh, do write the storybook, then!
      Thanks for the visit~! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Mei .. lol but I love drawing too and I have deviant art account as well but not so active, You must try Autodesk sketchbook it is simply amazing … I loved it and sketched my friends and still live art ..

    Liked by 1 person

        1. I followed your blog so that it’d be easier to track. :3 I can’t wait to see your drawings~
          Hehe, yes, I will post some of my stuff around the blog every now and then. Thanks for your support~! πŸ˜€

          Liked by 1 person

          1. It’s okay! You know what they say, “practice makes better” or something like that. Mine aren’t good either, and I’m still learning. But I’m still sharing them, cause why not?
            And I’m pretty sure your drawings are a lot better than you think they are. ;-; *Pats*

            Liked by 1 person

          2. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ thank YOU much … πŸ™‚
            Actually I don’t get much time to draw more! I am always programming and creating new software/projects πŸ˜€
            I will share πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ *HIGH FIVE*

            Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m still learning, too. Keep practising, as well and I’m sure you’ll get your drawings to look the way you want them. πŸ˜€

      (I was thinking to make a tutorial for anime eyes, but only after I get better at them, haha.)

      Like

Stamp your thoughts below~

