Art Puddles, Blog

Dear Roses

What can speak more about love than a rich bouquet of red lovely roses? Sweet scents that enchant our senses, making our hearts race, and our minds play on dear memories.

At the beginning of this year, I bought myself a new sketchbook, and eager to try it out, I grabbed my colored pencils and traced the lines to a sweet painful memory. I’m kidding. What I actually had in mind when I began sketching was one of my stories, Chidori, a Cell Phone Novel I wrote a couple of years ago (and which is now being edited, reason why I will not provide a link just yet), which focuses on a Japanese young adult who finds himself fall in love in the most stunning circumstances.

The girl in my drawing is a representation of his love interest, as one could think, all of the colors I used there are symbolic. You can easily notice the loving sweet red, the bight warm yellow, the pure dear white, and of course, the cold blue. I am going to leave her black hair aside (Yes, that was supposed to be black… but in the picture it came out like that…), because that would be too much of a spoiler.

Anyway, I have posted two versions of the same drawing. One is a normal view, the otherβ€”negative. I thought it looked pretty and it also gave me an idea related to the writing style of the story. The birds (the only ones that are digitally drawn) are here as a simple decorative element. Or maybe not? To be honest, they are part of another project, but that is going to be a whole different post.

hirondelle_draws_1
Please disregard the awkward looking hand…

Now that the post has reached an end, I am going to leave you all with some questions: What kind of feeling does this drawing convey to you? What would be the meaning of the colors I used, in your opinion, and how do you think they relate to the story? Do you think you can somehow guess some of the story’s plot? Also, if you are drawing too, do you also use symbols, be it either forms or colors?

And, as always, if you have any kind of advice to offer, the comment section is at your disposal. I would be more than happy to read your words~

18 thoughts on “Dear Roses”

  1. this is so cute!.. I love the way you write posts so much synced !.. from the drawing I feel that … it’s about a cute girl with lovely heart but she is afraid of something… ..
    Or she may be playing peek-a.boo! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hmmm .. let’s see, the girl is a noble and pure soul(the white), she longs for trust worthy company and is caught up in an unexpected passion ( the combination of yellow and red).. but her world is cruel and unfair ( the blue) ..
    Is there any chance that I AM EVEN REMOTELY CLOSE…

    I too experiment with art and use a lot of symbols , if you would like to check it out , here is the link https://themerrygoroundblog.wordpress.com/category/my-creations/ and a really nice sketch, by the way.

    Like

    1. Yes, yes, you are close~! Thanks for sharing your thoughts with me. πŸ˜€
      Experimenting is really good, for it teaches us a bunch of stuff~
      Thanks for the link~

      Like

  3. You are full of surprises! πŸ™‚ Your drawing is awesome. The coloured one reminds me of my childhood. It makes me feel comfort and happiness. The negative one reminds me that there are two sides of the same coin. Everything may have a negative side!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thanks! πŸ˜€ I’m glad you like it and that it evoked some nice memories! Oh, yes, you are right with that interpretation. πŸ˜€ There certainly are two sides of the same coin~

      Liked by 1 person

Stamp your thoughts below~

