Blog, Culture Files

First Time Play

I have promised myself that I would stick to the schedule and that I would try to organize my life better, but somehow, my poor table is falling apart after not even a month.

Life is getting a little hectic again, with all the rescheduled classes, presentations, and all the crazy stuff we have to do for our classes. Crazy, in a good way, I mean; my classes are enjoyable. Which reminds me, last week I went to a theater performance.

But let’s begin with the beginning!

A couple of weeks ago or so, while in the Shakespeare Adaptation and Translation class, the professor came up with the idea of us all going to see a representation of one of Shakespeare’s plays, which, she further explained, would give us the opportunity to test our knowledge on the subject. “And then, maybe we’ll go out for a drink!” she added.

Some of us snickered, others simply continued staring blankly at a wall. I smiled.

To be honest, I was looking forward to this mise-en-scene, as I have never managed to go to the theater before. (Or, at least, I do not have any memory of it…) The proposition was to watch the “Taming of the Shrew” at some local theater, and one of my classmates decided to take care of everything connected to the play, i.e. collecting the money, seeing if we get any discount, buying the tickets and so on.

We checked the price of the tickets online, a fact which pushed our enthusiasm down. They were quite expensive. And the bad news was that we did not get a student discount either, nor one for a large group. Most of my classmates deserted. And I almost did the same.

Since many of us did not exactly know the location of the theater, we decided to meet up, an hour in advance, near one of the university campuses. Somehow, I reached there first. Well, along with another classmate of mine who was super excited to see the play. “This is my favorite Shakespearean play!” she clapped her hands, smiling.

To my embarrassment, I did not manage to read the play just yet, even though I actually planned on reading it before going to see it on stage, nor was I able to read, at least, one brief summary. So I asked my classmate for some details. (Actually, just before I left for the meeting place, I had just finished reading Ionesco’s “Macbett” which I needed for the next class.)

After what seemed an eternity of waiting, we finally got a move on. From the slightly crowded streets where we met, our hurried steps threw us into a sea of people, onto a very busy street. And the foreigners’ most favorite one too! (Or so I heard.) Colorful waiters and waitresses were standing by, luring customers inside their restaurants, cafes, and pubs. Different music scores met our ears with every step we took—melodious voices echoing from far away.

And then we found it. The theater!

Curious eyes scanned the building from outside. Curious hearts awaited dearly inside.

We went searching for our seats, and once we found them, we chose our partners. The two of us, my classmate who arrived earlier and I, we sat together. Another classmate accompanied the professor, other three were in another row, and the one who was late remained alone. Poor girl…

When the play finally began, I found myself with a smile plastered to my face. My classmate, too. The actors sang and dance to our enchantment, adapting lines from the original play—translated. The opening scene was about a party, the next, they were all dispelled. The shrew appeared too. And so the plot picked up, following the misadventures of a girl whose hand was finally asked in marriage by a prince. Ahem! Actually scratch that. He was no gentleman to her, he was the tamer of a beast.

The actors performed well, really well. There was not a moment that I would not laugh or smile, at least. Everything was executed perfectly. The adaptation was a success!

Surely, if I had not gone to the theater, I would have tremendously regretted it. Even though it was rather expensive, it was totally worth it! After all, culture is knowledge, and knowledge costs.

Hirondellemeirie_tamingshrew
I have only managed to take this poor shot of the actors, at the end.
4 thoughts on “First Time Play”

  1. I love going to the theater! I haven’t been recently, unfortunatelly, but your article reminded me of how much I love it and how much I miss it. It can be quite expensive sometimes, but it’s a unique experience. “Taming of the Shrew” is a great play, I love it. I am glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! Yeah, I would have regretted it terribly if I didn’t go. Now, all I have to do is to actually read the play and see the differences and how the adaptation worked. x3

      Liked by 1 person

Stamp your thoughts below~

